Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sam2
Newcomer I

Passed CISSP January 4th 2019

Glad to inform you that I passed the CISSP exam on 01/04/2019. After seeing the congratulations printout from the pearson vue's staff there was a sense of accomplishment, lot of relief and a bit of celebration.

I have about 18 years experience and 12 different certifications in IT, project management, BCM, Security, privacy domains and this was the 13th. I have been working as security and privacy head for a business group in my company.

Preparation: Though I wanted to take this exam long ago, but somehow the priorities kept on changing due to work, travel and family. Finally in September 2018, I made up my mind and started to study for CISSP seriously. The CAT version of 3 hours was of immense help for people like me having short attention span. Study material utilized: ISC2 CBK 8th edition, Shon harris all in one 7th edition, ISC2 sample questions guide, Online videos by Kelly Handerhan, NIST documents and questions available from different online sources. I had to read the ISC2 book and Shon Harris book cover to cover two times to understand the concepts. Though ISC2 book has all the content, there are specific topics that are covered in details by Shon Harris book. After completing the books first time, I started practicing with tests to evaluate the results of my concepts and understanding. Initially it was in early-mid 70's and continuously improved to go towards 90's. I disagree with lot of people who say that:

It's a management exam only. Just focus on finding the best option applicable. While selecting the controls, look for risk management and cost benefit analysis, instead of  just looking into the management aspects