Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SJ
Viewer

IT Security Goals

I have been preparing on and off for the CISSP for the past 6 years. (sigh)

I know, it sounds like serious procrastination and I get that, but when I changed jobs from WIN and UNIX Admin for the USGov to a dedicated Systems Analyst - my whole skillset took a dump. 

No more field or bench repair of broken Server, Network, Printer/Scanner or PC/Laptop items down to piece-part, module or chip level (1300 of them - all unique), no more physical inventorying, assembling, disassembling, receiving/setting up or packing/shipping of items, no more at-desk customer support (or driving/flying all over Europe) and no more need for the intermittent 'refreshing' of the 13 IT and dozens of vendor-specific Certs I'd managed to get and had to maintain.(A+, N+, Inet+, Sec+, Server+, Novell CNA, Msoft MCSE, Cisco CCNA, Oracle, Sun, Apple, Hetra, GRiD, HP, WANG, Zenith, CDC, TEMPEST Tech, etc...)  

So, suddenly I had to put down my toolkit and soldering iron and pick up a clipboard, wear a tie and manage OTHERS to do what I most loved myself. The job did not require PMP, although I have also studied for it, and CISSP was not required, but it was another goal of mine - when I had the time and extra $650.00 to throw at it. 

5 YEARS later, I changed jobs again and after another 26weeks of 'specialized' training, I find myself in exotic parts of the world for 2-3 years at a stretch, responsible for the Confidentiality, Integrity and Availability of the (IT) Servers, Networks, Workstations and Voice (Tel, SatPhone, HF, VHF and UHF radio) systems of a satellite office of a HUGE global organization.  Naturally CISSP is on the plate again 🙂