Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cyberset
Viewer II

Failed the new CISSP CAT exam on April-07-2018

Hello all.  I took the new CISSP CAT exam on April 07-2018 and did not pass.  It was a big disappointment.  I studied the Sybex publisher of CISSP, (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional Official Study Guide 7th Edition three times.  I practiced both exams on the actual book and the online version of the exam multiple times and passed above 98% passing score.  The actual CISSP CAT exam test did not cover that much about the book I studied for.  I really don't know if the new CISSP CAT exam designed by (ISC)2 is to make people fail so that they pay more money either to take the exam more than one time or go through the authorized training centers?  I have no idea.  I called the (ISC)2 customer service and expressed my frustrations.  The representative told me that I should not just rely on one source for preparing the test.  "You should study other materials out there" the rep said.  When I asked what materials should I look for to prepare, the representative did not have a solid answer for it.  That was even more frustrating for me.  I any case, I ordered another book which is Official (ISC)2 Guide to the CISSP CBK, Fourth Edition ((ISC)2 Press) 4th Edition from Amazon to study and prepare.  Am I missing something here?  Is there a test engine out there to prepare for the exam besides the books I mentioned above?  Thank you

28 Replies
Steve-Wilme
Advocate II

Hi,

I used 3 different sources to prepare for the CISSP; the official ISC2 CBK book, the Shon Harris all in one book and a dummies guide.  It took 8 days to study and pass the old paper based exam, but then I had worked in InfoSec for 8 years and IT for 17 years when I took the exam, so had probably absorbed some of the information from practical experience already.