cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CristinaDeLisle
Newcomer I

DPO as CISSP work experience

Hello,

I am currently a Data protection officer and I was wondering if my work experience in this role can be considered valid for a CISSP certification. Does it fall traditionally under at least 2 of the 8 domains? 

Thank you for your time and have a great day!

6 Replies
wimremes
Contributor III

I think it depends on a few factors :

* what are your responsibilities as a DPO? My understanding is that the general tasks of a DPO are as follows:

a. monitoring an organisation’s compliance

b. informing and advising on its data protection obligations

c. and acting as a contact point for data subjects and the relevant supervisory authority

* Is the DPO role a full time position or not?

Given the current 8 domains, I would only see the work of a DPO (based on the description above) fitting "Security and Risk Management" for the FTE time you spend on it.

Current 8 domains for reference : 

• Security and Risk Management
  • Asset Security
  • Security Architecture and Engineering
  • Communication and Network Security
  • Identity and Access Management (IAM)
  • Security Assessment and Testing
  • Security Operations
  • Software Development Security

Sic semper tyrannis.
CristinaDeLisle
Newcomer I

Thank you for your answer. Indeed, it seems to fit into that domain, those are the tasks I am performing. Currently I perform 50% of my time working as a DPO and I'm doing so for the last year. 

I am considering to advance to doing the other 50% of my time as a System Administrator, which can lead me to getting a SSCP credential in the following years.

I have also a 4 years college degree and I'm preparing to get a IAPP-EU and a CIPM certifications.