Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ign1s
Newcomer I

CSSLP Questionaire

Hello, I am interested in becoming a CSSLP. I have almost two years of paid, working experience as a software developer. Since i lack the required experience, i guess i need to become an ISC2 associate first by taking the CSSLP exam. I need some clarification.

• Considering successfull pass of the exam and remaining working years completion, how is the transition from ISC2 to CSSLP achieved? Do i need to retake any exam?
  • How is the domain of the working experience defined? Do i need to be explicitly assigned a security-wise role in my team to qualify for the exam?
  • In case of failure, what is the cost of trying again?
  • How many CPE do i need to recertify? Do external(not ISC2 community oriented) activities count towards credits? (e.g open source contributions). Please provide some specific examples on CPE earning.

Thanks in advance. Happy to be here 🙂

3 Replies
emb021
Advocate I

Let me try to answer some of your answers.

* As I understand, you just need to submit an application to become fully certified.  There is no re-test.  This is the whole purpose of the Associate status.  You have 9 months after taking the exam to apply for the certification.  The Associate status "maintains" this pass until you can get the experience to apply.
* Look at the domains.  You need to do work in 2(?) of them.

* You have to pay for the exam again.  Not sure if its the same cost or a discount BUT you will have to wait a few months before retaking.