cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Aurelio
Viewer II

CISSP books, and general advice

Hi Everyone

I'm new here and I am looking into beginning my CISSP studies.

I have a question which I was hoping if someone could provide advice on:

- Would it be advisable to wait for the new editions of the Official CBK / Study Guide to be released (Q3 / May respectively I believe) or are the current editions sufficient considering the change in exam this month?

For context, I have been working in the IT field for 12 years, primarily in the SMB space. My previouse role where I spent most of this time was a small company so i wore many different hats, which included working with Windows Servers/Desktops (patching, Active Directory), Endpoint protection, Firewalls/IDPS, Data availability/storage/retention). Obtained my CCNA Route/Switch cert late last year.

I am both excited but also nervous about undertaking this path so any general advice would be most welcome.

Thanks 🙂

3 Replies
MiniMe
Newcomer I

I am sure there are pros/cons for any route you take here.

This exam covers a LOT of topics and it resembles a marathon as opposed to a sprint imho. Therefore, patience is probably an important part of many people's studies. 

Well, if you take a step back and look at your question from a patient man's perspective, your answer would be waiting for the new material unless you have a burning desire to take the exam before the new material is released. 

My 2 cents...

Thanks,

JohnZ

Aurelio
Viewer II

Hi JohnZ

Thanks for taking the time to reply!

I understand that there is a huge amount of information that goes into this certification. Hence my eagerness to get 'stuck into it'.