cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tingting_Lu
Newcomer I

CISSP Study Plan and Time Budget

Hello everyone 🙂

I'm studying to take the CISSP out of career need. I am wondering if my schedule is good. May I ask for suggestions regarding the plan?

I have a master degree on IT Security field. After graduateion, I have worked as IT developer for one year and IT Audit for a year and 9 months.

Since I am not very experienced, and the exam content seems quite challengeable for me. I plan to read over and fully understand these two books 'CISSP for Dummies' and 'Official CISSP Sybex', then practice around 4-5 exam simulation.

I budget 200 hours on CISSP for dummies(approx 25 hrs per domain * 8 Domains), 336 hours on Sybex (16hrs * 21 Chapter), and the last 3 days for exam simulation. All together 560 hours (approx. 6 months

preparation).

Does this plan sounds reasonable and good?

Thank you in advance!

8 Replies
JKWiniger
Community Champion

For me this is a hard question to answer because everyone learns and retains differently. Some due great with instructor led training, where someone like me does better by reading a book. In the same light, I read very slowly, but retain what I read without the need for notes. The best thing I can say is that it is not about reading and memorizing, but rather comprehending the material so it can be applied to any question or situation you might come across.

I will be entered to see what others have to say.

John-

Tingting_Lu
Newcomer I

Hi John

Thank you for your experience and suggestion input.Smiley Happy

My brain could really remember things only after understading it throughtly enough(e.g. why it is like this, how to do it). Alike you, I do better by reading books. I couldn't read swiftly neither since the brain need to digest the content. Thus I came out the study budget as mention above, 560 hours mainly for read and understanding the 2 books.