Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
shaggyDBA
Newcomer I

Security and the DBA

Maybe someone can shed some light on this for me.

I've been doing database-related security work for ~6 years and it seems there there is no "formal" guidance concerning databases.  Sure there are plenty of consultants out there capable of assisting and there certainly is no shortage of guidance from the likes of DISA on what you should be doing, but I haven't seen anything formalized as to "here's how you should secure your database" and, more concerning "here's how you should manage a forensic investigation of a database in the event of a breach".

I'm from an Oracle background, so I know David Knox & company have a ton of material out there.  I also know Pete Finnigan has recently published a fantastic book "Oracle Incident Response and Forensics".  But I rarely see anything from (ISC)2 beyond data security recommendations.

Data generation and consumption is increasing at an exponential rate and it is up to the DBA to maintain the CIA of said data. But how does the DBA respond to a breach? What factors should the DBA be considering? These are the things I don't see much of in the public domain, whether it be (ISC)2, SANS, etc.

Very curious about this and interested in hearing others insight/experience on this topic.

Shawn

14 Replies
JoePete
Advocate I