Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bdhildreth
Newcomer I

Security + Cert

Hello all, I am currently studying for the CompTIA Security + certification and am thoroughly enjoying it. I am reaching out to others who hold this certification to ask if they have any pointers about study materials that helped them or specific disciplines I should focus on over others. 

Thank you in advance. 

B.

7 Replies
Rossva
Contributor I

Hi there! Get yourself Darrel Gibson’s study guide, the only guide I used to pass this. Also look up professor messer on YouTube, with these two resources you’ll be best prepared. The 501 exam is a great introduction to lead into CISSP.
Spoon2k
Newcomer I

Hello,

I passed the Sys 401 exam prior to me passing the CISSP and one big advice I would say that helped me passed the Security+was me reading Darril GIbson's book and purchasing his online premium content.  They were very well put together and praised by many if you go on other forums such as Reddit, etc.  Good luck and wish you all the best.

bdhildreth
Newcomer I

Thank you I will look into those resources

CISOScott
Community Champion

Check with your local library to see if they subscribe to Safari books online. My local and state library have a subscription and it is free for library card holders. It allows you to view a lot of tech books online for free. They usually have several Security+ books in there. That way you can read the books and if you decide they are really good and you wish to hold them in your hands or mark them up, then you can go buy them. It allows you to view books on all kinds of resources for free. I recommend reading several books as you will pick up the data by repetition and some authors explain it better depending on your learning style.

sergeling
Contributor I