Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
C_Shift
Viewer II

PMP to CISSP

I am a PMP certified professional working with infrastructure projects for last 15 years. i would like to make a career shift into security.

Please suggest if CISSP is the right certification ?

Thank you.....

6 Replies
emb021
Advocate I

The CISSP certification requires 5 years of experience in infosec, and is not meant as an entry-level certification.  I usually recommend Sec+ and the like from CompTIA.

However, if you have been doing work within at least 2 of the CISSP domains for that period of time, you could get it.

Are you looking to get out of project management, or to move from infrastructure projects to infosec projects?  I have seen folks who are infosec project managers, who almost all have both the CISSP & PMP.  Which is a combo rarely found.

---
Michael Brown, CISSP, HCISPP, CISA, CISM, CGEIT, CRISC, CDPSE, GSLC, GSTRT, GLEG, GSNA, CIST, CIGE, ISSA Fellow
Chuxing
Community Champion

It really depends on several factors: your interest, your career path, and your experiences.

Information security is a growing area, and the trend is still very much on the up-swinging. Having both certifications certainly would help your career, but you will need experiences to be fully qualified as a CISSP.

Having obtained both myself, I find it is very beneficial, to cross-reference your knowledge from either fields. Exam-wise, CISSP is on-par with PMP in terms of difficulty level.

I would recommend that you read up more on information security in general and CISSP specifically. and research your career opportunities.

Best of luck,

The short answer, as noted by the previous posters, is: it depends.