Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DaveTheITGuy
Newcomer I

Online Universities - How Flat rate works

For anyone who is thinking about attending online classes and hasn't made the leap, allow me a few minutes of your time to tell you how flat rate universities work. For transparency, allow me to give these facts:

• I have been attending Western Governors University online for 4 months now in the Cybersecurity Bach program
  • I reviewed online universities both flat rate and traditional tuition programs for 7 months before choosing WGU as my University

With that said, let's get into things. What I'm going to say will apply to flat rate universities in general (I reviewed 3 of them for my decision making). However, some pieces of my info might be related to WGU only.

WGU offers 6 month terms for about $3180. During that 6 months, you can complete as many classes as you can, regardless if it takes you a day or weeks. You go at your own pace. 

Many of the WGU classes end with a finals exam that isn't your traditional test you'd see in a school. Instead it's a certification from a vendor that you would take at a PearsonVue testing location. However, what is VERY awesome and unique to WGU is that each cert exam voucher is INCLUDED in your flat rate tuition AND you get a total of 3 attempts at each test (all included). For the Cybersecurity degree, you end up with 9 industry certifications, which taken out of pocket, the tests would equal about $3K on their own (not counting retakes). 

You get many freebies from tech vendors from being a student from free Windows 10 licenses, Office licenses and many other software licenses. You also get access to some nice tech discounts on "things" such as computers and other good stuff.