Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
estephanj99
Newcomer I

Mentorship needed

I wanted to know if anyone has possible time to help/mentor me in the cybersecurity field?

8 Replies
ericgeater
Community Champion

Tell us about your background, and why you're looking for this guidance.

--
"A claim is as good as its veracity."
estephanj99
Newcomer I

im currently a Business tech analyst.. I have a B.S in security systems- cybersecuriy & taking my Masters in cybersecuriy, also have my sec+. As I'm sure everyone has, im having trouble getting my foot in the door. with so many different avenues to take i believe some guidance would be a tremendous help.

Appreciate any feedback!
dcontesti
Community Champion

So during these times, one on mentoring is a little difficult, however folks on the Community are here to answer your questions, help you with concerns.

Actually, some of us still learn on a regular basis from things posted here.

In your reply to Eric, you have not said what your experience level however, I am reading no actual hands on experience.

As I have suggested in the past:

- volunteer at your church or synagogue 

- volunteer at the local YMCA

- take either the SSCP or CISSP exam and become an associate

- join a local chapter (I did see your post on that....but if NYC is meeting, check out some of the others that post here on the community and are holding virtual events).  This step will help your find a local mentor and also build your network.

You did not say if you were presently employed or not.

If you are, then go and talk to the Security boss and let them know you are interested or let your immediate supervisor know.

But for now, you can post here, and a number of us will be happy to reply either privately or publicly.

Regards

d

CraginS
Defender I

@dcontesti wrote:

As I have suggested in the past:

- volunteer at your church or synagogue 

- volunteer at the local YMCA