Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dan1010
Newcomer II

Greetings Community! Intro + a Few Questions

Hello, Community!  I would like to introduce myself as I plan to be very active. But, also I have a few questions very important to me and I think this is a perfect place for some amazing answers.

My name is Dan.  I am in my late 20's and I have recently decided to make a career out of Information / Cyber Security.  This choice was not easy for me.  My background is in Computer Engineering.  I tend to pursue many interests; so while software engineering, hardware engineering, programming, robotics, etc. are VERY dear to me (and I will dabble in them still),  I think Information / Cyber Security is what I want to do.  I am leaving the military to pursue my passions and to really have the freedom to unleash myself professionally.  Lucky me, I have been doing IT and Information Security already for 5 years. A couple years ago, I passed the CISSP exam and last year, I finally had the experience to take the title!  It felt and still feels great!  I feel really lucky to be part of such a great organization, shared by so many amazing professionals that have the opportunity to do so much good in this world.

My first question: I decided public-sector work isn't my cup of tea.  I guess I'm not entry-level, but something about going from public-sector to private-sector makes me feel unprepared and new.  I have learned to dress myself.  I am learning how normal people network.  I have put the military-unique stuff in the past.  A few good first steps, but still.  My question is,  what advice would you give a young-ish Information Security professional if they told you, "I want to be an ISO.  I want to be a CISO.  I want to be one of the best. And I want to earn my way into a position to, one day, give back to the field" ?