Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pcarner
Newcomer II

Becoming a CISO: Education, Expertise and Experience - what if the Experience is missing?

Hi guys

It is my dream to craft my path to a CISO.  I am not that young anymore - but that means I have been in the industry for some time - and worked for IS vendors for more than a decade now.  Early this year I thought my experience would serve a greater purpose if I worked for an actual organization where I could finally bring to bear all my experience into securing it. 

So I studied hard, earned my CISSP and sent out resumes for Information Security Officers in my area. Well, it seems that I have the education and expertise I need but not the experience required (i.e. "you have never done that job...") I feel a bit disheartened in all fairness. Any suggestions you could provide?

Thanks in advance!

6 Replies
dcontesti
Community Champion

@pcarner wrote:

I feel a bit disheartened in all fairness. Any suggestions you could provide?

Thanks in advance!

I don't think you should feel disheartened.  Becoming a CISO is a progression and not something that we can easily walk into as you need both Security experience but you also need business exposure.

In my case, I spent years in Security, got my certifications and then (as it were) trained with more senior security folks who allowed me to make decisions, mistakes, presentations, talks, etc., until one day they moved on and I was able to demonstrate that not only did I understand Security but I also understood the business.

In my case, I found it useful to be able to talk "in layman's" terms to all levels of the organization especially in trying to understand their risk appetite / tolerance or explaining the need for Data Classification, etc.