cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Baechle
Advocate I

What is DevOps?

Colleagues,

I'm not a programmer, but I played one on TV before (j/k).  I see the term DevOps being slung around more than ever now.  I tried to hit up popular web sites for a quick rundown (Wikipedia), but I'm still a little lost.  When I read the description, it seemed more like the community of programmers lost their way and "DevOps" is just the current buzzword/catchphrase for reigning them in and chaining the rowers to the galley oars instead of letting them roam free on the deck.

Does anyone have a good public Internet source that could explain how DevOps is different from normal programming project management?

Thanks!

Eric B.

7 Replies
Badfilemagic
Contributor II

Originally the concept was about getting development and operations cooperating and talking to each other, using agile processes, to avoid issues like dev environments not being matched in production and causing issues, ease debugging, etc.

Cynically, these days, it seems to have devolved into making the same set of employees do both development and operations, leading to systems or network admins writing shoddy code; developers who, rather than do an rca, just revert the vm or container and call it a day; and then you pay them 3/4th the pay to do 2x the work with 1/2 the reliability
-- wdf//CISSP, CSSLP
Thalpius
Newcomer III

Hi Eric B,

This is what I found from my CISSP notes which is marked as “good” as an explanation what DevOps is:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_I94-tJlovg

I’ve just watched it again and it makes sense to me. Let me know if this small video clears things up.
Baechle
Advocate I

Raymond,

Thank you.  The RackSpace video you linked did clear up a lot of what I was thinking.  

@Thalpius wrote:
This is what I found from my CISSP notes which is marked as “good” as an explanation what DevOps is:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_I94-tJlovg