Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nielsoncr
Viewer

New CISSP considering whether an MBA is worth it

I recently received my CISSP certification, and look forward to expanding my skillset and developing my career further.   I've received some encouragement from a CISO I trust to consider getting an MBA.  I've given it some thought and am undecided if an MBA is worth it for me.  I have almost 20 years of experience in the software development industry, and wonder if an MBA at this stage in my career will be a good return on my investment of time and money. I want to be able to better communicate with the C-suite, and maybe join them one day. 

I would appreciate any thoughts the ISC2 community has to offer.

12 Replies
JKWiniger
Community Champion

Personally I went with a Masters in Information Security and Assurance. I have seen it said a number of times that it is much harder to tech security to a business person than teaching business to a security person. I have watch a few day in the life of a CISO and they have just scared me! One person had a background in sales, another said they don't understand the technical stuff but have people for that, and they can put together a 3-5 year strategy like no body's business! Ok, explain how you can put a strategy together on something you don't really understand! I think this is one of the major issues we are having right now, people in CISO position that might understand business but don't really have a clue when it comes to the actual security they are supposed to be in charge of. I keep learning new things regardless of if I will be hands on with it or not, but rather to have a better understand of things, how they work, and how the different parts fit together. How many of these people don't focus on backups and updates? Umm isn't that step 1?

I am very interesting to see other peoples ideas and points of view on this...

John-

bkwalker
Newcomer III