Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jmpffff0000
Newcomer I

Odds of passing with lots of experience?

Newbie here!

So, I've been in the industry a few decades, started with cracking software copy protection back in the BBS days, spent some years in the military (mostly infosec, sigint etc related), started a few technology companies and am running a couple companies now, including an MSSP, with security consulting on the side. 

But... I have no certifications because I simply haven't bothered.  However, that leads to embarrassing conversations nowadays, "We'd like you to do a presentation on X and consult on Y, what can we put down for certifications?"  😂

So it appears a good CISO should have CISSP/CRISC/CISM, and I decided to start with the CISSP since that seems to be the one that comes up most often in general conversation.

I feel like I know it all, (hah! that'll be the day!), but of course there's always the "unknown unknowns".  I've taken and passed a number of practice tests, but before I blithely jump straight to the exam I thought I'd post here and see if A - anybody else was in my position before and fell flat on their face, and B - if there's any recommendations for Really Good practice tests (which I might not have tried), and/or freebie training materials that might have enough info to let me identify weak areas that need something formal.

Any and all assistance is greatly appreciated!  🤗🤗🤗

9 Replies
hsehdar
Newcomer II

Use the following video resources (a few freebies) to find out if there are any gaps.

1. Kelly Handerhan at Cybrary
  2. Pete Zerger on YouTube
  3. Mike Chapple on LinkedIn (He has authored books)
  4. Rob Witcher on Destination Certification site and YouTube (He has authored books)
  5. Andrew Ramdayal on YouTube with 50 questions and mindset
  6. Prabh Nair - CISSP Prep (Coffee Shots) on YouTube

Early_Adopter
Community Champion