cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Thisisme
Reader I

CISSP exam requrements

Hello,

If I do not have 5 years of equivalent experience, does that mean I do not qualify to attend the CISSP exam? I have a master's degree in information systems security, certification as a Cisco Cyber Ops associate, ITIL and 8 years of system administration. My understanding is that either the master's or the certification would be considered equal to a year of experience, which means if I manage to pass I would need additional 4 years of relevant experience within 6 years of time. 

However, one of the (ISC)2 partnered training centers has rejected me to register for their CISSP training saying I do not meet the required pre-requisite (lack of experience). 

Could someone help me clarify please? is there anyone in my situation?  I want to give it a try. 

8 Replies
dcontesti
Community Champion

@Thisisme 

So your Master's would definitely qualify as one year towards the experience requirement.

I am confused as to why ANY training provider would refuse you.  I really think that part of the question, is best answered by someone on the management team with whom you can provide all the details.

As to the exam, you would be able to sit for the examination and become an Associate (should you pass the exam) and then would have the six years to gain the additional experience.  Your note states that you have been doing system administration for eight years , so you might have more experience than you think.

I would ask that @AndreaMoore forward your note and comments to the appropriate folk internally so that they can reach out and assist you.

Regards

d

ssomuah
Newcomer I

Per my understanding, your Masters's degree should reduce the five-year requirement to 4 for you. I however find it strange why a training center will turn you away. If for nothing at all, you should be allowed to train, write the exam, and be certified as an associate.