Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Newcomer I

Budget Essentials

I am new to being a manager, and have recently been tasked with putting together a budget for security. This has changed my entire point of view on business operations. So I am now curious....

What do you guys consider to be budget essentials for security?

How do you go about putting your budget together?

How do you accurately forecast your needs for the year?

Do you have any useful resources I can reference?

Thanks!

7 Replies
Highlighted
Newcomer III

Re: Budget Essentials

A long time ago I was taught that everything begins with policy, to inform people, who need products to do their job. I tend to follow these guidelines across all aspects of my work. To develop your budget  you must under stand:

Policy: What functions are you obligated to perform or deliver on from all sources of policy and procedure: Legal requirements, regulatory requirements, business objectives, security framework and what every else fits within your scope. IF you haven't identified what you are required to do, you will end up wasting scarce funds on items that to not contribute to your bottom line

People: Our people are our best resource. Make certain that they understand what is expected of them and then provide them with the knowledge to deliver this includes: Salaries, contracts job specific training on what the organization's needs are, what the Risk Management processes that the organization follows are, and any technical training they may need. Do not assume that technical training alone will do the job, they must understand the business needs and impact to properly frame any technical training they receive. Otherwise you way wind up with a lot of expensive, cool and clever things that do nothing for your bottom line