cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
azi90
Newcomer II

Experience to replace the certification requirement

Hi,
I was thinking to aim towards SSCP certification but i do not have any experience in Security sector besides access control( More details below).

I have about 5 years of IT experience as Sys/Netw admin and wanted to move in to security field . My question is, will my access control at work can be counted towards the 1 year requirement for SSCP Certficiation. I have been doing access control ( provisioning keyfobs, managing who can access office at what time through Program called brivo etc.) for past 2 years. I know official certification calls for access control domain but im not sure if this will be the same thing.

-Azfar

12 Replies
Early_Adopter
Community Champion

Hi Azfar,

I would reach out to someone you trust who is SSCP certified and ask them, but I think that sys/net admin might well map to three of those domains. You only need a year's experience in one domain.

Cheers,

Michael

PS From ISC2 Ultimate Guide:

The Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) is the ideal certification for those with proven technical skills and practical, hands-on security knowledge in operational IT roles. It provides confirmation of a practitioner’s ability to implement, monitor and administer IT infrastructure in accordance with information security policies and procedures that ensure data confidentiality, integrity, and availability.

The broad spectrum of topics included in the SSCP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK)ensures its relevancy across all disciplines in the eld of information security. Successful candidates are competent in the following 7 domains:

Access Controls
Security Operations and Administration
Risk Identification, Monitoring, and Analysis

Incident Response and Recovery
Cryptography
Network and Communications Security
Systems and Application Security

https://www.isc2.org/Certifications/SSCP